Your Industry Leaders

Young Achievers Award

The Col Johnson Young Achiever’s Award

The Meritorious Service Award is presented at the at either the FMA AGM or at Hort Connections Gala Dinner to the person who has achieved the criteria for outstanding contribution to the wholesaling sector, their local Chamber, FMA, the Central Markets and the horticulture industry and who is selected by the Board from nominations submitted by Member Chambers. There may be only one Award each year, subject to a suitable candidate being nominated and selected. If there are no suitable candidates nominated in a particular year, then the Award will not be presented.

The Col Johnson Young Achiever’s Award, established in 2002, is named after Col Johnson, past Australian Chamber President and Meritorious Service Award winner, who championed the involvement of our younger people in industry affairs through his support for the establishment of younger persons committees in Member Chambers and in initiating the Youth Forum as part of Annual Conferences.

The Award is presented at the FMA AGM or Hort Connections Gala Dinner, to the person who has achieved the criteria and displays potential for the future, and who is selected by the Board from nominations submitted by Member Chambers.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Those who go above and beyond!

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented in recognition of an individual’s outstanding leadership and contribution to the fresh produce sector. This may be a new innovation, new knowledge, or ways to improve professional practice deemed to be above and beyond the every day with a long-lasting impact in the sector.


LJ Jenkins


CR Walker


N J Kellaway


 E J Milne


GC Pogson


JE Ewen


AG Russell

The rich tapestry of our industry has been woven through our Life Members' unrelenting commitment to fresh produce.


CW Johnson


SR Hunt


 WF Chalk


 S Zappia


J Antico


Eric Kime was awarded the prestigious honorary title of Friend of the Chamber in celebration of his dedication and unwavering commitment to the advancement of Sydney Markets, its people and the fresh produce industry.

He began his career in 1969 with the Markets as a wholesaler, a Chamber member and as a Director and later Chairman of Sydney Markets Limited, until his retirement at the age of 78, in 2003. During his time at Sydney Markets, Eric saw may changes, including the planning and construction of the new Sydney Markets site at Flemington in 1975 and its subsequent privatisation in 1997.

But, it was Eric’s absolute passion for Sydney Markets that truly defined him. His promotion of its core values; community spirit and lending a helping hand when it was needed has now become his legacy that all of us at Freshmark try to emulate on a daily basis. Ultimately, Eric’s drive to ensure the Markets remain strong today and well into the future has left an indelible mark on the Markets and we will be forever in his debt.

Thank you!

Presidents' Roll of Honour

Freshmark is indebted to those individuals who have provided exceptional contributions to the fresh produce industry

LJ Jenkins Founding Member



First President of The NSW Chamber of Fruit and Vegetables Incorporated

In recognition of their service and dedication to improving the fresh produce industry through their role as President of The NSW Chamber of Fruit and Vegetables Incorporated, each President has been inducted into the prestigious Presidents’ Roll of Honour.

We begin our journey with Leslie James Jenkins the founding member of The Chamber, who served as the first President between 1935-1939. Through Leslie’s vision for New South Wales’ fresh produce industry, The Chamber has been able to grow the industry domestically and internationally for both growers and wholesalers. 

In 2020, The NSW Chamber of Fruit and Vegetables Incorporated transitioned from being an incorporated association to a public company limited by guarantee resulting in the appointment of a new Board, a change to the constitution and company name to the NSW Chamber of Fresh Produce Limited. 

Carlo Trimboli is the last serving President of the Committee but continues his service as Chairperson for The NSW Chamber of Fresh Produce Limited Board.


Thank you!

Verified by MonsterInsights